Wise Man and His Fool

The wise man said:
I’m here for a reason
Let me do my work and don’t put treason
Too easily upon my head.

And the fool replied:
I’m not here to admire
Your generous deeds that should inspire
Too easily you always lied.

The wise man retorted:
Will you make up your mind
To choose my side and don’t be so blind
Or you will be reported.

So the foolish man sighed:
I know it was true
What is said for centuries and put us through
Wisdom is a foolish guide.

        © Séamus Kennan / 2017

Scriptorium_Header 44a

Any thoughts?

